Inactivating medication for deceased patients

Following the death of a patient, all repeat therapy items are automatically inactivated when a deduction notification is received and the registration status is changed to transferred out. We all know however, that this message can take a while to come through leaving repeats in an active state. 

We therefore recommend that you manually inactive all repeat medication as part of your death administration process as follows:

  1. Select the patient in Consultation Manager.
  2. Click on the Therapy tab.
  3. Press Select All sel.
  4. Press Inactivate Repeat inactivate.jpg.
  5. From the Inactivation Reason screen, select Other and add death details into the additional text box. 
  6. Click OK to save.

Inactivation Reason.jpg

Note - To help prevent acute medication being erroneously prescribed, we also recommend you add a yellow reminder to the patient record with details of the patient's death.